PDA

View Full Version : Vortech Flow Calculator - MP10's or MP40's?


DunnoMuch
09/20/2017, 08:37 PM
Trying to decide on 2 MP10's or 1 MP40 for my Red Sea Max 250. The display dimensions are 37x16x22 inches or about 54 gallons.

On Vortech's website, they have a "Flow Calculator" to help you decide. I am primarily concerned with SPS corals, but will have a few LPS on the bottom. The calculator says two MP10's will have an "Optimal Flow Zone" of about 2000 gal/hr for SPS and 1000 gal/hr for LPS. Furthermore, Vortech recommends 1900 gal/hr for SPS and 900 gal/hr for LPS. Therefore, the recommendation from the manufacturer is 2 MP10's.

However, in the forums, a lot of folks with my size tank seem to have to run their MP10's at 100% and wish they had more flow. Vortech's website says even one MP40 is WAY too much flow for my tank.

I would really like to run a pair. I also don't want to spend the $$$ on MP10's and wish I would have gotten the MP40's. Anyone have any thoughts/experience? Should I go with 2 MP10's, 1 MP40 or even 2 MP40's dialed back?

Leopardshark
09/22/2017, 05:55 PM
I would buy 2 x mp40. You can always reduce their flow, but you cant maximize more than 100% in the mp10s.

rtparty
09/22/2017, 06:01 PM
MP40 for sure. One reason being you can save up and add a second which you will want to do anyway and another reason being I'm pretty sure your glass is too thick for MP10s. I bought a used MP10 from a guy running your tank because it wouldn't hold on his glass.

Robert Hoeck
09/22/2017, 06:24 PM
I've 40 breeder and was using 2 of 10's and had to run nearly 100. Just switched 1 out to 40 and happy.

DunnoMuch
09/22/2017, 06:27 PM
Well, as luck would have it, before I saw these replies, I pulled the trigger on one MP10wQD. Great deal on eBay $225 shipped and brand new.

According to the flow calculator on Vortech's website, one MP40's minimum flow is way above the recommended flow my recommended tank. I will post pics in my next post, can't do it from this computer.

My thinking was to get this one MP10, see how I like it, then depending on how the MP10 was performing add another MP10 or MP40.

Appreciate all input. I will let everyone know how it goes.

DunnoMuch
09/22/2017, 06:34 PM
See attached images from ecotechs site for my 54 gallon display. Their answer is clearly two MP 10s but seems thy are wrong and I will soon have a brand new MP 10 for sale :mad:

DunnoMuch
09/22/2017, 06:39 PM
sorry, having trouble with the images, will upload when I get home.

JP Reef
09/22/2017, 07:09 PM
I wouldn't sweat it too much. See how it works for you. Only really an issue if your glass is too thick. A MP40 can be added later. A single MP10 should get you some good flow. May not get much on the opposite side though.

DunnoMuch
09/22/2017, 10:44 PM
Thanks for the positive thoughts. I will definitely give it a try.

I had to give up on uploading the screenshots, they won't take. If anyone is really interested, try putting your tank size in the Vortech Flow Calculator. You might get a smaller pump recommendation than you and/or most are actually using.

I would be interest to see what people find out.

DunnoMuch
10/03/2017, 12:30 PM
Quick update, I received the pump last week and installed it Sunday. So far so good, it is staying on the glass. Perhaps I have been severely under powered in the flow department, but the one MP10 seems like a heck of a lot of flow to me! I have some small frags that have been blown off the rocks, will need to glue those down better.

I will probably get another MP10, want to wait and see if I have any issues with this one. It seems like there is probably not enough flow on the other side of my 3' long tank. I'm in no rush, however, because relative to what I had before, this seems like a huge improvement!

Potatohead
10/03/2017, 12:34 PM
You can always add as colonies grow. My tank is 32x24x20 and I have four MP10's in there. Two cap out about 85% and two at 55%.

Xandernfs
10/03/2017, 03:18 PM
FWIW, I went with 2 MP40s on my Reefer250. I figured I'd dial them back rather than have MP10s high power most of the time. There is also an issue with the glass thickness and the connection with the MP10s.

risk1994
11/09/2017, 01:39 PM
Im getting a red sea 250 soon and plan on an mp40. Definitely dont want too little flow.

DunnoMuch
11/17/2017, 05:22 PM
I went with two MP10's and a Reeflink, they have been going for over a month now. It seems like a lot of flow to me and tough on the fish. They hide in the rocks outside the current most of the time.

With the Reeflink, I am able to run Reefcrest for a few hours, Nutrient Transport for a few hours, back to Reefcrest and then I run a 20% constant at night. I max the Reefcrest at 80%.

DunnoMuch
11/17/2017, 05:24 PM
Forgot to mention, no issues with glass thickness either!

outy
11/17/2017, 06:42 PM
I have 2 40's in a 215G tank and it has plenty for most needs. Maybe not SPS only tank.

2 40's would be overkill in a 50G

2 10s would be very nice


for the last decade I sold coral out of the 215 with 1 powerhead similar output to a single 40

kevin_e
11/17/2017, 11:39 PM
I run 2 MP10s on my 50 cube and have for over a year. No issue with flow.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk