PDA

View Full Version : MP60 vs Two MP40


WLachnit
09/21/2017, 12:58 AM
For my 8 ft tank, I run multiple MP40s right now. My question is if I were to run an MP60 from one corner is that going to be more effective than running 2 MP40s placed in the same corner?

I know that an MP40 is rated at 4500gph and an MP60 is rated at 7500gph. If I just add up the two MP40s, which would be 9000gph, that would suggest that I will get more flow down the length of the tank than just the one MP60?

scuzy
09/21/2017, 02:32 AM
The MP60 will move more water over distance. The mp40s are kinda weak I think.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

ktownhero
09/21/2017, 09:00 AM
No, it doesn't work like that. Two MP40s don't combine like Voltron to make a super pump that can go further distance, lol. It's still just two of the same pumps with the same power next to eachother. It ill have little to no effect on the distance it travels.

On an 8' tank I wouldn't even be bothering with MP40s except on the back wall. You really should be using MP60s for anything that's supposed to be covering the length.

ReefCowboy
09/21/2017, 09:09 AM
Multiple MP40's on the back wall are a much better deal than one pump struggling to move current from one side to the other.
You also wont have the pump blocking the view on the side glass.

WLachnit
09/21/2017, 07:25 PM
Thanks...makes complete sense. I guess it's like anything else...whether it is in series or in parallel. Time to upgrade my powerheads.