PDA

View Full Version : Switching to Kalk via dosing pump


dubmaneh
09/21/2017, 12:51 PM
Hi All,

I'm thinking to switch my dosing from 2 part (Randy's recipe) to Kalk and would welcome any feedback on my intended setup.

I can't use my ATO to dose as fluctuations in the evaporation rate vary too much for any type of consistency. My plan is to use a 5gal plastic water jug (or 5gal salt bucket with lid) and my Kamoer pump to dose saturated limewater.

Don't really want to shell out for a Kalk stirrer just yet so I was thinking that if I keep the jug topped up with RO water and leave a slurry of kalk paste on the bottom (more than is required to reach full saturation) the solution should remain saturated at all times. Am I mistaken in this? Perhaps give it a stir every couple days?

5gal of limewater should meet the demands of my tank for roughly 30days. The dosing containers would be covered. Is 30days too much of a supply?

Appreciate any feedback.

ktownhero
09/21/2017, 02:38 PM
I just started adding kalk via dosing pump and I like it. Your idea about adding excess kalk would work, but obviously wouldn't be an exact science... But as long as you alway keep more kalk in there than is needed to saturate the water, you're good. You won't need to stir it most likely as long as the refill agitates it. 30 days is fine, just leave it sealed and still.

bif24701
09/21/2017, 07:32 PM
I have a 32 Brute that holds my RO/DI Kalk mix, also add a little vinegar to enhance the Kalk saturation. My Kalk is added with a BRS 50ml/min pump from BRS. The pump runs for 4 min every 1/2 hour. This matches my evaporation so closely that I have no ATO. You could do something similar. Set the doser so that it almost matches the evaporation and let the ATO make up any differences.

I mix the Kalk one time upon filling and that's it. Put a lid on it and let it sit. I've not noticed and drop in concentration doing this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ktownhero
09/22/2017, 12:50 PM
I have a 32 Brute that holds my RO/DI Kalk mix, also add a little vinegar to enhance the Kalk saturation. My Kalk is added with a BRS 50ml/min pump from BRS. The pump runs for 4 min every 1/2 hour. This matches my evaporation so closely that I have no ATO. You could do something similar. Set the doser so that it almost matches the evaporation and let the ATO make up any differences.

I mix the Kalk one time upon filling and that's it. Put a lid on it and let it sit. I've not noticed and drop in concentration doing this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's nice, so you have almost a month worth before you need to refill the kalk or ato? I have a spare 32g brute sitting around and a wall i can go through to hide it behind the tank. HMMMM!

bif24701
09/22/2017, 01:12 PM
That's nice, so you have almost a month worth before you need to refill the kalk or ato? I have a spare 32g brute sitting around and a wall i can go through to hide it behind the tank. HMMMM!



It goes about 3 weeks. It is my ATO/Kalk. I don't have a separate ATO, the 4 min every 1/2 makes up for all my evaporation. I have 300 gallons total so I probably have more evaporation than you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

smatter
09/22/2017, 02:02 PM
I used to use 32g reservoirs but now I have elected to only make one weeks worth at a time just in case the highly unlikely yet possible scenario of my Litermeter failing happens.

bif24701
09/22/2017, 02:05 PM
I used to use 32g reservoirs but now I have elected to only make one weeks worth at a time just in case the highly unlikely yet possible scenario of my Litermeter failing happens.



I don't fear mine failing. It's on a timer via APEX EB8 relay socket, if it fails it will fail in the off position.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

smatter
09/22/2017, 02:19 PM
I guess if I had an $800 controller keeping watch I might mix huge quantities of limewater with reckless abandon, for now I will keep my small reservoir.

Sig32
09/23/2017, 07:30 AM
Don't mean to hijack. I just set up a reactor connected to the ATO myself. What mix ratio are you guys using to maintain saturation since the mix is constantly being diluted?

roberthu526
09/23/2017, 03:28 PM
You will probably have to replace the dosing pump relatively frequently.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bif24701
09/23/2017, 03:34 PM
You will probably have to replace the dosing pump relatively frequently.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Only if the pump is in the limewater. If you use a pump like the BRS ATO pump 50ml/min like I do you won't have any Kalk/pump problems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bif24701
09/23/2017, 03:34 PM
I guess if I had an $800 controller keeping watch I might mix huge quantities of limewater with reckless abandon, for now I will keep my small reservoir.



My point is all you really need is a decent timer. Then your set.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

roberthu526
09/23/2017, 04:01 PM
Only if the pump is in the limewater. If you use a pump like the BRS ATO pump 50ml/min like I do you won't have any Kalk/pump problems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



The calcium build up in the tube is still going to cause some issue. But you are right the pump itself should be fine since it doesn't touch the limewater.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bif24701
09/23/2017, 04:31 PM
The calcium build up in the tube is still going to cause some issue. But you are right the pump itself should be fine since it doesn't touch the limewater.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



There is no buildup in my 1.5 year old tubes. Only build up that occurs is at the very end of the output, that's it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dubmaneh
09/23/2017, 04:44 PM
You will probably have to replace the dosing pump relatively frequently.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Just ordered 50ft of santoprene tubing so I should be good for......ever?!?! Lol!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

dubmaneh
09/23/2017, 04:48 PM
Thanks for all the input.

My dosers failed two days ago (my fault for not replacing the tubing) so I'm manually dosing at the moment.

Will be switching to Kalk dosing (via kamoer doser controlled by reef keeper with ph probe) as soon as the new tubing comes in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

roberthu526
09/23/2017, 04:53 PM
There is no buildup in my 1.5 year old tubes. Only build up that occurs is at the very end of the output, that's it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Wow I may give it try then! I thought the build up would be really good but reality beats theory! Thank you for sharing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FullBoreReefer
09/23/2017, 07:44 PM
I used kalk for a few weeks and decided to go back to two part. I wasn't using my ATO but used a dosing pump. My ATO automatically fills so I couldn't go that route. More or less I went back because two part was set up and used for almost 8yrs and I didn't like change. Plus with PH fluctuations I didn't have a way to control things like I did with my two part, meaning if PH spiked I couldnt just turn off my kalk or else the tank parameters would drop. With two part, I was able to use carbonate or Bicarbonate if PH was high or low.

bif24701
09/23/2017, 08:40 PM
Thanks for all the input.

My dosers failed two days ago (my fault for not replacing the tubing) so I'm manually dosing at the moment.

Will be switching to Kalk dosing (via kamoer doser controlled by reef keeper with ph probe) as soon as the new tubing comes in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro



Awesome, just don't use pH to control the Kalk.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dubmaneh
09/23/2017, 10:57 PM
Awesome, just don't use pH to control the Kalk.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



No. Will dial the dose in similar to 2 part (based on consumption). The pH will be an emergency shutoff in case of overdose.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

FullBoreReefer
09/24/2017, 01:40 PM
I used kalk for a few weeks and decided to go back to two part. I wasn't using my ATO but used a dosing pump. My ATO automatically fills so I couldn't go that route. More or less I went back because two part was set up and used for almost 8yrs and I didn't like change. Plus with PH fluctuations I didn't have a way to control things like I did with my two part, meaning if PH spiked I couldnt just turn off my kalk or else the tank parameters would drop. With two part, I was able to use carbonate or Bicarbonate if PH was high or low.

I should state that I DO NOT chase my PH. But I do dose two different alk solutions depending on PH parameters.

bif24701
09/25/2017, 08:54 PM
No. Will dial the dose in similar to 2 part (based on consumption). The pH will be an emergency shutoff in case of overdose.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro



That's perfect, I've got mine set to shut off if pH is too high.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk