PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Finding Tank

1775Nate
09/28/2017, 05:55 AM
I have decided on the 65 gallon standard tank size of 36" x 30" x 25". I just can't fit a 48" tank in the spot available in my house. Plus I like the 25" height vs some of the longer tanks with an 18" height.

I don't want to go custom because I'd like to keep the cost down. I've found most of the local pet stores sell the Aqueon 65 for under $200 but the problem is they are telling me that the entire tank is tempered. I would like to drill my tank to install a Bean Animal overflow.

I have also considered making a DIY tank. I have never done one before but I am pretty very handy and constantly do DIY projects. I'm not sure what the cost difference on a DIY is because I haven't researched it too much. Having nightmares of it coming apart in my family room!

Anyone have any thoughts on where I can obtain a drillable non-tempered 65 gallon tank or advice on whether or not to attempt a DIY?

mcgyvr
09/28/2017, 06:05 AM
Did you mean 36" x 18" x 24" thats a 65 gallon? 36" x 30" x 25" is much larger than 65 gallons...

Where are you located?
Deep Blue Professional #ADB11066 is a 65G tank and only the bottom is tempered..

I'd also call Aqueon to confirm because it might just be that the bottom is tempered on those too and not the sides...

nereefpat
09/28/2017, 07:25 AM
I'm getting much more than 65 gallons there too...more like 117.

Calling aqueon is a good idea. I'm pretty sure any aqueon (all-glass) tank will only have the bottom tempered. If the store has one in stock, it's easy to check with polarized sunglasses.

1775Nate
09/28/2017, 12:19 PM
Yes you are correct. Not sure how that happened. 36" x 18" x 24". I'm going to call aqueon in a few but I've heard they give vague answers and claim they use