PDA

View Full Version : Apex - 4-channels of variable speed/dimming question


saf1
10/01/2017, 06:52 PM
Hi All. I'm currently using a Reef Angel controller and considering migrating to the Apex when I finish my new tank upgrade. I am using custom LED chips, Borealis Luxeon Z Array's by Rapid LED, and wondering how I wire / use the Apex 4 channel ports. I have a PWM expansion module which is connected to my one of the MeanWell LDD's.

Is there documentation available before I purchase to see how to use the 4 channel speed/dimming ports? It looks like RJ45 jacks. If so I'm guessing (probably incorrectly) that you are splitting the wires and giving 4 to one channel and 4 to another. Is there something I could see in order to wire up my channels correctly? The Borealis is 4 channels has are the new multi chips I'm using from Blue Acro.

Thanks. Looking forward to trying this unit out.

saf1
10/01/2017, 06:56 PM
I think I found a reference searching a bit more. In case anyone does a search on the forum here I might as well answer it :)

https://www.neptunesystems.com/downloads/docs/Comprehensive_Reference_Manual.pdf

RussM
10/01/2017, 07:08 PM
A pinout diagram for DIY purposes is here: https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?285-Apex-Dimming-Cable-amp-DIY-LEDs

The Apex variable outputs are 0–0v analog, not PWM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

saf1
10/01/2017, 07:13 PM
A pinout diagram for DIY purposes is here: https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?285-Apex-Dimming-Cable-amp-DIY-LEDs

The Apex variable outputs are 0–0v analog, not PWM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Thanks. Appreciate it. I actually was just reading through their documentation and see that. The currently LED system wouldn't work with that then. I have some new emitters that am going to use but I think the driver I'm using with that is also PWM. Bummer.

Thank you again. Appreciate it. I'll go back to the drawing board and see what I might be able to do.

RussM
10/01/2017, 07:17 PM
Steve’s LED has a 4-channel harness that converts 0-10v analog to PWM


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

saf1
10/01/2017, 09:38 PM
Hi Russ - thanks, I didn't consider that. I've used some of his products before in fact with my 29 gallon bio-cube. I'll head over there and see what it is. Thanks for the tip!

Not sure if I can link - but is this what you are referring to? http://www.stevesleds.com/Aquarium-Controller-Interface-Harness_p_183.html