PDA

View Full Version : Dry rock?


Bulldog39
10/06/2017, 11:08 AM
KB-Rock Premium Florida Reef Rock I just bought some can I just rinse it off and put it in my tank and start my cycling process that way?


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

scooter31707
10/06/2017, 11:42 AM
Is your tank already established or you starting from the beginning. If starting from the beginning, I just rinsed my rock and put in the tank let the cycle begin. If the tank is established already, I recommend cycling the rock before adding to the tank.

mcgyvr
10/06/2017, 12:11 PM
KB-Rock Premium Florida Reef Rock I just bought some can I just rinse it off and put it in my tank and start my cycling process that way?



yes you can.. might not even need to rinse it.. But you can get some dust,etc... from shipping/movement..

Bulldog39
10/06/2017, 12:37 PM
Thanks

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

billdogg
10/06/2017, 12:44 PM
What mcgyvr said. Otherwise clean, freshly mined rock is generally good to just put in the tank. Why make things harder than they need to be?

Bulldog39
10/06/2017, 03:15 PM
Also if I start with dry rock I can add live basically at anytime right?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

billdogg
10/06/2017, 04:34 PM
I like to seed a new tank with a piece or two of nice live rock from another tank. As long as it isn't covered with die-off, put it right in.

allendehl
10/06/2017, 07:15 PM
Also if I start with dry rock I can add live basically at anytime right?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using TapatalkThat's exactly what I'm doing now and I already see a level of nitrites. I also started adding some microbacter7 to help the cycle.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

Bulldog39
10/06/2017, 08:25 PM
Awsome good to know

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk