PDA

View Full Version : Is this good?

blackbeard88
01/30/2018, 11:21 AM
Hello. I've been studying the saltwater hobby for about 2 years now and I'm finally ready to start my first tank. I wanted to say what I have and here any suggestions from other hobbyists.

To start with, I went with the 32 gallon LED Coralife tank. This is only because I'm going to college soon and want to be able to take it with me. For the media, I plan to use:

Marine Pure Bio balls
Seachem Purigen
Filter Floss
(Any suggestions here would be great. I started to get lost on what media to use)

It will be a FOWLR for a while but I plan on adding low light corals (or upgrading tank size) once I know what I'm doing.

I'm a little unsure of my stocking list but this is what I can think of:

2 Clownfish
1 Orchid Dottyback
Shrimp and Goby pair
Cleaner Shrimp

For the Clean Up Crew, I couldn't really think of what would be good to have over some others so if you don't mind dropping some suggestions. However, here is what I thought might be good to use:

A few Trochus Snails
1-2 Emerald Crabs
2-4 Hermit crabs (doesn't matter what kind)

A question I have is do I add the clean up crew first or the fish? I have Dr. Tim's One and Only to start my tank up and some ammonia drops to keep them alive while I quarantine my fish, but I've seen where people did the clean up crew first and others did the fish first. What do you suggest?

mcgyvr
01/30/2018, 11:36 AM
IMO..
As far as fish.. Thats a 100% personal choice.. Its all you.. of course make sure they are suitable for a small tank and stuff but which fish is all personal..

2 emerald crabs are too much for such a small tank and will starve. Even 1 likely will too.
Hermits really just end up eating your snails which is find as long as you repopulate every once in a while..
I would skip hermits.. do an all snail clean up crew..
A few trochus or astrea and some nassarius if you plan on a sand bed..