PDA

View Full Version : BTA help?

Ab129
03/19/2018, 07:33 AM
So I just bought a beautiful BTA today, my first.
I’m a newbie getting my first tank going. So far I have a pair of oscellaris snowflakes, a melanaurus wrasse and my new BTA.
I turned off al pumps and flow when I placed him in the tank and left them off for 30 minutes. When I put the pumps back on the BTA stayed put so I assumed he was ok with that spot and everybody(me) was happy.
Went out for a couple hours and when I got home he was gone!
After a short panic I realized he had positioned himself behind my rocks underneath an outcropping. Called my lfs and they said he probably won’t stay there and even if he does, the tentacles will lengthen and come out for light.
I am wondering if perhaps my lights were set too high of an intensity and maybe that is why he moved.
I have a pair of new radion xr15 and I’m using one of the preprogrammed cycles, something like “typical reef tank”. It’s a 12 hour cycle with lights at %100 for six hours.
What do you guys think?
If he doesn’t move on his own what can I do?
Any input would be appreciated.
Originally posted this in the clown and anemone forum but no luck there.

ClownNut
03/19/2018, 07:46 AM
just let it be, it will comes out when its ready to go.
how old is your tank?

Ab129
03/19/2018, 08:35 AM
Tank has been cycled since October first fish added end of December.
My main concern is if my lights are set too strong and the only reason I suspect that is the way he hid himself in the rocks under an outcropping possibly as shelter from the light.

Ab129
03/19/2018, 08:40 AM
Parameters are good
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10 ppm
SG 1.025
Ph 8.4
75 gal tank
30 gal sump
Icecap gyre 3k for flow

LauraGreenImp
03/19/2018, 09:54 AM
IME, anemones sometimes ‘wander’ when put in new tank. I wouldn’t worry, he will find his spot. :) (your lights look fine to me - jmho)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

LeJeune981
03/19/2018, 11:28 AM