PDA

View Full Version : Overhead Sump


VIVVIV
05/25/2018, 04:19 PM
Is it possible to have a sump above the main tank? Could I just have an overflow in the sump to feed the tank, and a water pump in the main tank?

Thanks

Fourstars
05/25/2018, 04:41 PM
I've seen it done. Usually its is so they can dump the tank into the main for surge action.

gilweb
05/25/2018, 05:13 PM
You would have to make sure that if you lost power the main tank can handle any extra water drained from the sump. I imagine it will not be much unless you are planning a monster sump.

ajoe
05/25/2018, 05:21 PM
You would have to make sure that if you lost power the main tank can handle any extra water drained from the sump. I imagine it will not be much unless you are planning a monster sump.

Great point. This could be a disaster in the making if not accounted for.

Reef noob_
05/25/2018, 05:27 PM
Look online for “king of diy overhead filter” or something similar. He has a few videos on filtration tanks that are mounted above the DT.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lsufan
05/25/2018, 11:17 PM
Even if u want a bigger sump above the DT I would try & fit a smaller second sump below the dt. It only has to be big enough for the return pump, ato & any water that would drain down when u turn the return off. Usually I want a long, shorter tank for the sump, but in your case a taller tank like a 20 H would work better. U can run it just deep enough for your return pump & have quite a bit of room for the extra water when the return pump turns off. If u run it at 7” deep that would be around 8 gallons, so it would leave u around 11 gallons of room. It would also make it to where u can run the dt at a normal water level. If not u would have to run the dt a little low to be able to handle the water from the sump when u turn the pump off.

I’m just using that as a example. Without knowing the sizes of your tanks we don’t know how much room u need. Otherwise your return pump & ATO would have to be in the DT.

If u decide to use only one sump then I would consider a external return pump. It still isn’t ideal but u wouldn’t have a return pump in your dt. If u have small tanks then u could figure out a way to somewhat hide a small pump in the dt.

mcgyvr
05/26/2018, 07:58 AM
Is it possible to have a sump above the main tank? Could I just have an overflow in the sump to feed the tank, and a water pump in the main tank?

Thanks

Absolutely...I did that exact same thing on my last tank.. I had a small macro/sump tank above the display..
The overhead tank had the overflow and the display tank had a small return pump tucked up near the top corner to be out of sight..

It worked just fine and I just made sure to set up my anti-siphon holes in the return in the sump so that very little water drained down into the display tank when power was out..