PDA

View Full Version : Fauna Marine Trace Elements & Color Elements

randoma
10/03/2018, 10:43 AM
I've been using Randy's 'two-part' method for many years. Used to use ice melt, but now I'm getting materials from BRS. Anyway, I'm intrigued by the Fauna Marine Trace elements which are added to the two-part recipe but I can't figure out how much to add. I found some references to 20ml per gallon for all 3, but also 6ml per gallon for Trace 1 & 2 and 20ml for Trace 3.. 6ml != 20ml by a longshot... So, anyone have direct experience with this?

Also, Fauna Marine has 'color elements' - are those in addition to the Trace elements or instead of?

bertoni
10/03/2018, 05:19 PM
Do you mean the Organic product? The standalone dosage recommendation is 1 ml per 26 gallons per day, and that's probably as close as you're going to get. They don't give a breakdown of what's in it, as far as I can tell.

The color elements are intended to bump coral colors. I don't know how well they work, but they would be used in addition to other supplements if you wanted to try to produce more intense coloration.

randoma
10/03/2018, 05:45 PM
I don't think it is organic.. They're from the 'balling light' system, whatever that means. 'Ultra Balling Light Trace 1[2,3] Color & Grow Elements'.

The organic nutrients and trace elements is something else.

randoma
10/03/2018, 06:00 PM
Fauna Marin instructions, when used with their 'two-part' system is the addition of 25ml/5L of their mix. But it is unclear to me what the actual Ca/Alk/Mg concentration is since the BRS 'two-part and Fauna Marin use a different source of Ca/Alk/Mg.

BRS uses 2.5 cups of Calcium Chloride/gallon, FM uses 2kg(!) of Calcium Chloride Dihydrate/5L... I'm pretty sure that 2.5 cups of BRS' Calcium is not even close to 2kg. But I'm also pretty sure that it would be impossible to dissolve 2kg of BRS' Calcium in 5L of water. Then again, I've never actually tried....

bertoni
10/03/2018, 06:47 PM