PDA

View Full Version : Coral Temperatures... why are ppl telling me to keep such low temps...

candymancan
10/04/2018, 05:12 AM
Okay im new to marine aquarium keeping but ive been in the fresh water hobby for 20 years now. So im learning about coral types and just everything in general so bear with me here.

i recently pulled a 27g hexagon my mom bought me as a kid back in 2001 as i needed an emergency hospital tank for discus i had that were sick.. My main hospital tank cracked when a light fell on it.

Anyway i decided to reseal the tank abd try my feet in salt water.. Tanks been running for awhile and i already have my first corals which arr doing great so far. I plan to make this mainly a reef aquarium with just a few fish nothing fancy in the fish department.

Now to my question.. Ive been to a few local reef stores and read online and everyone i talk too in these stores and these websites that sell coral all say to keep reef tabks below 77f. One store the owner said 72-75f...

Now im not an idiot and im trying to wrap my mind around this... Reefs around the world the temperatures are not 72f.. or 73f or 74 or 75f... Where are people getting these numbers from. Yes im questioning everyone who says such low temperatures because i have common sense.

According to online reefs around the world actual measured temperatures average to 82-84f. Some reefs cant get up to the 90s. And yes i know reefs cab bleach from temps that high but my question isnt the 90s.

With average temperatures in the tropics for reefs being 80s why in the hell are people telling me to keep my reef in the mid 70s. Especially that one store owner who said 72-75f.