PDA

View Full Version : How do you deal with fish death?

AlexR
03/15/2019, 10:19 AM
I've been keeping salt water tanks for over 20 years now and still find myself thinking about how i should feel when a fish dies.

I moved into a new house about 5 years ago and set up a new 125g aquarium.

Ive set up everything to automate as much as possible. I have the RODI setup using a zone valve connected to the tsunami ATO and am using a reef angel controller for all else.

I have basically let my tank cycle for over 4 years. Yes i know that excessive... But i just let it work as a refugium for w long while. The tank has some algae issues at the moment i am dealing with. Am doing bi-weekly water changes now.

I recently started stocking the tank with inhabitants. Got a cleanup crew of over 200 various snails/hermits and a half dozen emerald crabs.

So far i have added several fish which are all doing great except for a blonde naso tang. It was eating well for a week and looked great, but just today i noticed it was not swimming around. Found it hiding in some rock formations and struggling to stay upright. Its still alive but looks like it wont last long.

I understand a 125g is on the small side for a naso tang. The tang is about 2" now and i planned on relocating him to a larger tank when he grew bigger. I wanted him to fatten up on the caulerpai have growing on my rocks.

I put several other fish in at the same time which are all doing well, including a powder brown tang and a flame hawk.

I cant help but to feel bad even though i know its out of my control. I have setup everything the best way i can and do my best to keep all my water parameters at peak levels. It feels like i could always do more.

How yo do feel when a fish dies? I cant be the only one that feel like i'm doing something wrong.. Even after all this time.

sde1500
03/15/2019, 10:32 AM