PDA

View Full Version : Question on scheduling...

Splach
11/24/2003, 12:16 AM
Okay so the tank is supposed to be delivered in 2 weeks. Then I have to set it up, hook up the lighting, plumb the sump, hook up the calicium reactor, CO2, protein skimmer, and powerheads.

Once I have this done, what is the next step? Do I have to have my RO filter going full tilt to come up with the initial 200 gallons (150 in the tank, 50 in the sump) or do I then order my 1st shipment and then add water over the top of that...

Also how do I mix the initial water before adding it to the tank? Does it go in a garbage can to get all mixed up and heated or what?

Sorry, I'm a newb.

hdtran
11/24/2003, 09:01 AM
Fill it about 2/3 of the way to 3/4 of the way with your water. I personally don't use RO/DI water (all my water is straight from the tap; plus some stress coat if I'm in a hurry; gently aged in a rubbermaid if I'm not). My city water is actually pretty good except for being marginally high in arsenic (around 15 ppb, if I recall). I do get diatoms, but I consider that food for snails. If your city water isn't great, go ahead & fill your tank using RO/DI (or if you've got the patience).

For an empty tank, go ahead & mix the salt in the tank (unless you're doing a DSB or Jaubert or other variation, where you need to put substrate in the bottom of the tank first). Again, for an empty tank, don't heat the water until it's in the tank. But go and buy yourself a new plastic garbage can or rubbermaid container, a powerhead, a 50W submersible heater, and some tubing. You'll use those to keep pre-mixed water ready for water changes (or fill tank). Remember: 12 gallons of water in a rubbermaid is ~100lbs!

Go ahead & put your regular heater in the main tank (don't worry, you'll remove it later), and throw some powerheads in. Plug in heater & powerheads. Then, call TBS. Give them a credit card #, order your package, and tell them when you're going to be ready for it.