PDA

View Full Version : ultra crocea prices?

casbarian
12/13/2003, 03:44 PM
What is a fair price for a 4-5" ultra crocea? There is a great looking one at my LFS for 99 bucks. Some slightly smaller for $80. I'm new to clams so I'm a bit nervous about spending that much.

Thanks

ADS
12/13/2003, 04:16 PM
Croceas grow slower and are probably a bit more difficult to keep requiring intense light. They are usually very colorful and more expensive.
Prices vary on average. That's on the high end for online but on target for LFS prices.
Adam

fish_dave
12/13/2003, 06:14 PM
Using wholesale pricing as a guide line those prices are reasonable store prices for Solomon Island crocea. They are high for Vietnam crocea. The problem is knowing where the clams really came from. Many times the Vietnam clams are passed off as Solomon clams in order to justify the higher prices. Many of the crocea clams that I see avilable online in the 39.00 to 65.00 price range are Vietnam clams. I have seen several marked as Solomon crocea when the pricing would dictate otherwise.
Yes, I am biased towards Solomon Island clams. And also yes I have seen many very nice crocea clams that are great color and
are thriving that have come from Vietnam. What bothers me is how many times I see Vietnam clams passed off as Solomon clams generally to justify a higher price or perceived quality difference. While on the subject it also bothers me to see obviously wild collected clams showing up from Indonesia (especially Bali) entering the U.S. either as cultured clams or as smuggled speciemens. There are no legal permits issued from Indonesia for wild collected clams. There are wild collected clams getting into the country from there under cultured clam permits. I am not against the availability of wild collected if they come in legally, it does bother me to see regulations circumvented.

Vili_Shark
12/15/2003, 05:04 AM
Hi Dave, seems like somebody stepped on your toe or something.