PDA

View Full Version : placement and availability

nezw0001
03/15/2004, 09:12 PM
I am looking for advice on the flow in my tank, 180 mostly sps. I have an ampmaster 4700 as my return. I figure with the head pressure it is at approx 3000ghp or so. This is divided into 4 adjustable nozzles. I also have a tunze 7410 at the front right of my tank. I have two 6100s on order with marine depot. What should I do?

I am planning on totally redoing my returns using a nifty oceanmotion switching device but the ball and chain has only allowed the purchase of the streams for now.

Also any idea on availability? I haven't seen a post for a little bit. I am having dreams about my streams. Kind of worried I may get impatient and redo my returns in the mean time-major plumbing project! Well at least I am not wasting my bonus on shoes and stuff:)

Jill

Also

rvitko
03/16/2004, 01:20 PM
Streams are staring to come in again, I have been getting a small quantity every week. It isn't quite as many as we need but it is better than nothing and there was a long period of nothing coming in. I expect we will start catching up soon. For a 180 all you will need is the Stream kit with multicontroller. It will provide plenty of flow. I frankly would downgrade to just a return pump of sufficient turnover and save the electricity expense.

nezw0001
03/16/2004, 10:56 PM
Thanks Roger.

Any suggestions on relative position of the streams and the 7410?

Jill

PS I like your gordon lightfoot quote. Growing up in Duluth, MN "the wreck of the edmund fitzgerald" was practically our school anthem.

rvitko
03/17/2004, 09:53 AM
I would put a Stream on either side and then put the 7410 in an area that you want to have intense flow. Perhaps you will have some acros up top that you want a bit more flow for- I think you could do without it though. Is it a 7410/2, or a 7410p (old model with knobs on the front of the driver and built in pulse mode)?