PDA

View Full Version : Need info on clam

sandram
07/14/2004, 07:14 PM
I bought a maxima clam the other day and it seems to be doing ok, but this morning when I was using my baster to get the deitrus off some rocks it let out its zooanthellae. I know that corals do this just for the heck of it sometimes but I am new to clams, and not sure if this is normal or not. If anyone has any idea as to if its ok or not please let me know.
Thanks
Sandra

sandram
07/16/2004, 07:01 PM
anyone??

Reefmaniac1
07/17/2004, 04:17 AM
How do you know that it "let out its zooxanthellae"? Is the color of the clam fading out? If so, yeah, it could be bleaching.

Bleaching is a result of stress. If the clam had just recently been shipped to the store and then you got it without sufficient acclimation time at the LFS, that could be the reason. Any number of other causes to bleaching...

If the clam is truly bleaching out, then it is going to lose its primary source of food. You will need to target feed it in order for it to survive long enough to regain a sufficient population of zooxanthellae. Even target feeding though, may not be sufficient to keep it alive. So, be prepared.

Peabody
07/17/2004, 02:07 PM
Do you have metal halide lights? If not, your clam might be in serious trouble.

sandram
07/17/2004, 07:41 PM
Ok, I have 2 175watt metal halides with 2 actinic vho's as supplements. the clam isnt losing its color and it has anchored into a rock. It is kind of not really spitting but this hairy stuff is hanging from it. It looks like when a coral lets out its zooanthellae, so I figured that was the best way to put it. Any ideas? I want to be able to catch it if something is wrong sooner rather than later.
Thanks,
Sandra

Peabody
07/17/2004, 08:00 PM
Sounds like your clam is set light-wise. He might be expelling uneaten food....do you dose anything?

sandram
07/17/2004, 08:37 PM