PDA

View Full Version : Tank full of unwanted Mantis

kenny77
10/26/2004, 12:22 PM
Last night when i went to take a look to my tank with red light to see what can i find. i couldn believe what i saw. there were more than 20-25 mantis shrimps in my tank. all of them very small except for the biggers one was about almost 1/2 inch.

since i have no experience with mantis shrimp. i will like some advice here.

i dont know if it will be ok to keep them of to take them out.

other thing i really dont know what kind of mantis they were since they were so small. they look like some kind of yellow, veryy light brown.

what should i do?

kenny77
10/26/2004, 12:25 PM
can somebody help with the ID, i dont know if it will be posible since they are so little, that some of them i had to look at them with magnifying glass.

sdm
10/26/2004, 12:49 PM
Try to catch as many as you can. Or atleast SEPERATE them. Most likely 20-25 mantises in a 75g will result in a battlefield. Need pics to ID.

derrikd
10/26/2004, 12:50 PM
if you start to get rid of them ill take one or two

oddball_from_ac
10/26/2004, 01:31 PM
as will i for the biology club in my highschool. well only one is needed for the empty 6 gallon
dylan

sdm
10/26/2004, 01:40 PM
....no offense, but could people stay on subject? SAVE IT FOR THE "OFFER THREAD"....

derrikd
10/26/2004, 01:42 PM
;)

kfra
10/26/2004, 02:56 PM
yea use the water bottle method it usually works. also i know i know stay on subject but can i have one if you catch them.
copy and paste this link if you dont know the water botle method.
mantis trap (http://www.seahorse.org/library/articles/DIY/diyMantisTrap.shtml)

derrikd
10/26/2004, 03:02 PM
wow that is a great idea..

sdm
10/26/2004, 03:05 PM
you didn't know about that?

Freed
10/26/2004, 03:09 PM
Yeah, I'll take at least one if you want to get rid of them. Thanks.

PeejFish
10/26/2004, 05:25 PM