PDA

View Full Version : clam question im a newb when it comes to clams

KING OF THE REEF
08/04/2005, 08:13 PM
i have a 2 gallon seahorse tank with alot of space to use. i have 13 watts a gallon of intense power compact. can I keep a maxima clam in this tank until it out grows it. Please get back to me as I have a green with black specks maxima on hold at the lfs and i have only 2 days to go pick it up or else it is someone's elses. lmk please

kfisc
08/04/2005, 08:42 PM
I've not heard of a clam being kept in a 2 gallon tank, but I haven't heard of a lot of things; still i don't think that's enough lighting, but it's an old argument.

KING OF THE REEF
08/04/2005, 08:47 PM
13 watts a gallon not enough man what tree did i fall off.

Zoalander
08/04/2005, 09:00 PM
hmmm keeping a seahorse in a 2 gallon tank just doesnt seem fair. I think your lighting may be enough for a clam but isn't it hard to control the parameters? Then again you are majoring in marine biology.

yuhsuen
08/05/2005, 01:25 AM
In terms of lighting, watts/gallon is not a proper way to gauge lighting. It's best measured in pars, which for me translates to the intensity of light. From 13Watts/gal I'm guessing you have a 26W PC retrofit...and honestly, I also don't think the intensity will be enough for a maxima clam.

That being said, small tanks also have lots of fluctuations in parameters...temperature, salinity, and trace elements. Clams being big time Ca hogs, I can only imagine what problems you're gonna face when it comes to supplementing. I believe stability in a system is what will keep any live stock alive. Especially a clam like you describe, it sounds like a magnificent clam and I'd hate to not give it the best chance of survival. If you have some MH or even VHO or T5 in your other tanks, the clam will definitely do better in them IMHO.

Freed
08/05/2005, 01:35 AM
NOOOOOO!!!!!

KING OF THE REEF
08/05/2005, 01:48 PM