PDA

View Full Version : Aqua Lifter Vacuum Pump

jdmara
12/12/2005, 08:24 PM
Has anyone ever used one of these? I would like to use one for my DIY PVC overflow

Aqua Lifter Vacuum Pump (http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=KTALP&ast=&key=)

want2reef
12/12/2005, 08:27 PM
I have been using one to drip kalk for a couple of months.

Kevin

jdmara
12/12/2005, 08:33 PM
are they made well? Had any problems? Do you think if I connected it to the top of my overflow it would keep the air out of the line? Thanks for the quite reply

WessB
12/12/2005, 08:45 PM
I have been using one for an auto top off for some 9 months with no problems at all..when I had my nano cube setup, I used one for exactly what you are saying...I slipped an air line from the bottom up to the top of my U tube to keep the air out and it worked fine, I had the output side of the tubing dumping back into the overflow chamber so I wouldn`t end up siphoning the tank ...HTH

Wess

trstange
12/12/2005, 08:45 PM
I use one for auto-topoff and have never had a problem.

want2reef
12/12/2005, 08:48 PM
I've had no probs. yet it has only been 2 months.

Kevin

jdmara
12/12/2005, 08:51 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6273036#post6273036 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by WessB
I have been using one for an auto top off for some 9 months with no problems at all..when I had my nano cube setup, I used one for exactly what you are saying...I slipped an air line from the bottom up to the top of my U tube to keep the air out and it worked fine, I had the output side of the tubing dumping back into the overflow chamber so I wouldn`t end up siphoning the tank ...HTH

Wess

So you "fish-ed" a tube up the pvc and sucked out the air? You didn't have it attached to the peak all the time?

WessB
12/12/2005, 09:00 PM