PDA

View Full Version : high calcium ?

rbp 4 135
01/14/2006, 10:23 PM
all right so i bought a calcium test kit, and started testing my water. It actually is off of the chart, but to my calculations is should be around 700. I know that is way high, but i am not dosing with any thing, i am using oceanic salt, and my substrate is argonite. So my question is, do you think that the test kit is correct or do i need to order another one ? Also what is the recomended method for lowering calcium levels?

PatMayo
01/14/2006, 10:30 PM
Who's test kit is it?

I can't recall for sure but I thought I saw someone mention that Oceanic salt was high in calcium. But I still don't think it would produce readings that high.

I think it may be a bad test kit or user error.

Did you buy an Alkalinity kit as well? You need to look at both because they move in relation to each other.

Regards,

Pat

Lamorak
01/14/2006, 10:37 PM
While I have no personal experience with Oceanic salt, I've read many threads regarding Oceanic and the slow increase in calcium levels overtime. The raising of the calcium levels depends upon how fast your tank is using calcium. If you have a high calcium demanding tank, it would take longer for the higher than normal calcium levels to occur. If your tank is a low calcium demand tank, you'll see the increase a lot faster.