PDA

View Full Version : Freakin' ugly worms in my new leathers

Stealth70mde
01/15/2006, 08:34 PM
Hello RC community.

First post, first problem...

I am new to the Reef aquaria hobby though I have been in the fresh water one for more than 15 years having from gold fishes (when kid) to Cichlids for more than 10 years.

When my last 7 years old Cichlid died 5 months ago from Cichlid bloat I decided to convert to Salt water.

I am very happy so far, fascinated by the amount of life that just seems to appear in my reef. I often have pleasant surprises but recently I bought 2 leather corals and 1 that have small polyps.

The small polyp one came with a Live Rock that has many tunnels going through it. I have found two little furry crabs one day after I got it (I hope those little “furries” are harmless)...

I also saw something funny one night as it was some kind of only showing 3 antennas at the entrance of one of the small tunnels. A couple of nights after, I saw it again but this time a head was out eating on the polyps... :eek2:

I went here before I registered and found out it is most probably a worm (like the 7 footer story in one of the posts here)...

Now I have to remove it but I don't know exactly how to proceed as I do not want to kill the coral by pulling it out of the water in search of the worm plus the fact that this worm is scaring me a little bit now. I saw it again yesterday night and it is at least 6 inches long but I am sure I did not see the whole body.

Many wonders live in the seas but these gross worms are really disgusting and scary...

Many Thanks.

fakename
01/15/2006, 08:41 PM
LEathers are pretty tough.....if the worm has to go I would pull the leather and the rock it is on and freshwater dip the entire rock......you could leave the leather above the freshwater. I would bet the worm will come out once the freshwater is into the rock....

Stealth70mde
01/15/2006, 09:02 PM
Hello fakeman,