View Full Version : Red Sea Pseudochromis question

ryantm
01/23/2006, 05:31 PM
Of the four that are available:

springers
sunrise
Orchid
dutoiti

Which are the most agreeable? I know most dottybacks are aggressive towards fish etc, but I'm making a biotope and have decided to include one with an Ecsenius gravieri blenny. I would like to keep a cleaner shrimp but this is not a deal breaker as the history of dottys with ornamental shrimp isn't the best.

-Tom

SDguy
01/23/2006, 08:25 PM
I've kept all but the orchid. Dutoiti and flavivertex were quite aggressive. I currently have a springeri...pretty mellow considering he's in the confines of a 30g tank. Only my springeri has ever taken a liking to ornamental shrimp (he's ripped apart several at this point). I've heard that orchids are the most mellow, but I have no first hand experience.

hth

AIMFish
01/23/2006, 08:41 PM
I'll comment on orchids then! I get them captive bred and have yet to see a real mean one. They have been and are currently being kept with cleaner shrimp, small gobies, blennies, hermits, snails, clowns, cardinals, and even damsels. I would make sure you have a lid on your tank because I have had a few jump.

Kahuna Tuna
01/23/2006, 08:52 PM
The mellowest dottyback I've ever kept is another Red Sea species, the Sankey's pseudochromis. I kept a group of four and I had cleaner shrimp as well, very peaceful little fish. Not the most colorful pseudo but very cool little fish.

Vili_Shark
01/23/2006, 10:18 PM
FEM it goes something like this:
1.P.fridmani
2.P.springeri
Then C.flavivertex which can become quite agressive...the C. dutoiti, I shouldnt even mention, I had one years ago mega agressive in a 150G tank he put a whole school of P.fridmani restricted to a 10" rock (we're talking chinese wall type tank) and killed any small fish that came after a year or so he settled in.