PDA

View Full Version : Hardwood floor protection?

Paulsc
01/30/2006, 10:23 AM
Hello all,

Does anyone out there have any best practices to protect your hardwood flooring underneath your tank?

I'm just getting started in the hobby, been doing a lot of research & putting together my setup (80 gal. fowlr), & I really want to avoid ruining my floor.

Thanks for any advice!

Paul

sawillia
01/30/2006, 10:37 AM
I've got Redwood floors that I just put in.

I just put a 130 on top of them and this is what I did.

I went to LOWES and got a Shower Floor Liner (PVC/Rubber material that goes under the tile on a home made shower floor)

I cut that to be over sized to go up the wall behind and out to the front.

I also went to Sams (can also find this in Lowes) go the Dense Foam floor pads. (You use them to cushion under your feet on concrete. That lock together like a jigsaw puzzle about 1/2 - 3/4 thick.

I placed that on top of the shower liner under the tank. I made sure it was level and then filled the tank up.

I covered the ugly grey liner with a rubber backed mat (bathroom kitchen type)

We'll see when I remove the tank how I did... If you need more info PM me or email me I'll take some pictures....

ScottyDon't
01/30/2006, 01:24 PM
I bought a rug same size as stand and also put carpet underpadding under that.

cccapt
01/30/2006, 05:26 PM
When I set up my tank, I used rubber matting that I cut about 4" wide and set it around the edges of the stand where all the weight would be. The floor is oak parquet. I just moved the tank about a month ago after it sat in the same place for about 6 yrs and there was a black rectangle (only the outline of the stand and about 4" wide) imprinted in the wood. Once I cleaned up the salt creep and splash marks on the rest of the floor that was behind the tank it looked like nothing was ever there, but the black rectangle won't come out.
When I set up the tank this time I didn't put anything under it. Wood stand directly on wood floor.