PDA

View Full Version : Clown Fish Stange Behavior

Mike 1911A1
01/31/2006, 12:51 PM
I am very new to the hobby and recently added two clown fish to my tank. They seem to be doing fine but every once in a while, they have this strange twitch. Their whole body jerks. Is this normal? I have never seen fish do this before.

brians_224
01/31/2006, 12:54 PM
hi -

Does one do it or both? Its likely a sign of submission. During the pairing process, one will become dominant over the other. The less dominant will shimmy and shake in the presence of the dominant. I'd say likely normal.

Check out the stickies in the clown forum - you should find information on the pairing process and this behavior.

Good luck!

zimmy1979
01/31/2006, 12:55 PM
I believe it is a maiting thing. Mine do it and I have heard of many other clown fish doing it.

Mike 1911A1
01/31/2006, 01:11 PM
What's strange is that one is bigger than the other and it's the bigger one that I see twitching more than the smaller one. I'm beginning to find out that clowns are very interesting.

Paintbug
01/31/2006, 01:18 PM
its all part of the mating dance :D the larger one is probably the female as well.

TekCat
01/31/2006, 01:22 PM
hm... I think mine both juveniles(sp) and both are doing the dance. I don't think they are mating, could it be that they are still in process deciding who is going to be dominant one?

Paintbug
01/31/2006, 01:31 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6632746#post6632746 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by TekCat
hm... I think mine both juveniles(sp) and both are doing the dance. I don't think they are mating, could it be that they are still in process deciding who is going to be dominant one?
probably so! theres some good info on clownfish and their breeding in the fish breeding section.

larrica
01/31/2006, 01:53 PM
Pay very close attention. I don't want to alarm you, it could very well be what they say above however................