PDA

View Full Version : Ca Reactor question

Drouse
02/02/2006, 02:05 PM
I recently fired up my dual chamber Geo Reactor. I had to clean out the old media due to muck issues and sulfate build-up. While I was at it I bought a new solenoid and needle valve. After I turned the reactor pump on to fill the chambers the fittings leaked. Will silicone lubricant fix most of those small leaks?

The new solenoid works but I cannot seem to control the bubble counter. It bubbles 80-90 bubbles/ min with the needle valve closed? I cannot figure that out. So I am frustrated and dosing with 2 parts until I get some suggestions.

Any ideas?

Dave

Randy Holmes-Farley
02/03/2006, 10:28 AM
I'm not an expert on the valve, but it sounds broken or not put together correctly.

Anyway, the main reason that I posted was to ask what you mean by "sulfate build-up".

Drouse
02/03/2006, 10:46 AM
Randy, I am not untirely sure of the chemical make-up but I made the sulfur reference based upon the smell. The reactor sat ideal for a great while with water still inside. My fault. There was a dark black residue on the reactor media that had a definite rotten egg, sulfur-like odor.

Sorry if I mislead you.

Dave

elephen
02/03/2006, 10:55 AM
Did you use teflon tape on the threaded parts?

elephen
02/03/2006, 10:57 AM
And what MFG/model of regulator do you have?

Drouse
02/03/2006, 11:29 AM
The regulator/solenoid is a Gen-X. I put teflon tape on the fittings. Can I unscrew them and redo it without stripping the threads? I get nervous with the plastic threads.

Rao
02/03/2006, 02:18 PM
My geo smell like rotten eggs wen i disconect the punp that circulates water on him, so the non aerobic bacteria star to produce sulfur. But in a working reactor i think it's realy extrange. For the bubbles goin with the valve closed.... the valve is broken.

Regards

Randy Holmes-Farley
02/03/2006, 05:37 PM
Thanks. :)