ID This shrimp please ?

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/510/112839Shrimp4.JPG

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/112839pic_32.JPG

jeffbrig
02/03/2006, 10:43 AM
ghost?

Pandora
02/03/2006, 11:24 AM
Commander, I saw your other post, earlier. I didn't add to it, because I am no expert on shrimp ID... and because this one (you didn't mention in this new post thread) was collected out in the Mediterranean, and I don't think is a commonly available LFS species. I agree with the post in the other thread to try the invert forum... esp people like LeslieH, who work in natural history & taxonomy. Most people in the reef forum are most familiar with species that are common in the hobby, and there are hundreds of species of shrimp that never make it to aquariums. What part of the Mediterranean was it collected from?

Ghost shrimp (Natania sp.) are only FW as far as I know, though I agree the second resembles one.

When my peppermint was first added to the tank, it blanched in color and actually very much resembled the first pic.

Amphiprion
02/03/2006, 12:14 PM
Looks to be one of the Palaemonidae. Not terribly sure, but look up the family and see if/where yours falls under it.

CoMMaNdeR
02/03/2006, 12:34 PM
South mediterrenean. Near Italy

Can a Reefcentral Moderator post this thread into the inverts section so I don't post again there too.

Thanks alot.

Pandora
02/03/2006, 05:19 PM
Bump ^ --

Also I asked a mod to move if no good replies....

geo
02/03/2006, 05:21 PM
[moved] :wave:

LeslieH
02/03/2006, 07:52 PM
I can't do a mediterranean shrimp. This calls for Spawner who's a shrimp expert!

Snooker00
02/03/2006, 09:06 PM
It looks like it has a hump kinda like a camel shrimp? Just doesn't have the color of one. Just grasping at straws. Just thought I'd take a stab at it.

Steve

Reefcherie
02/04/2006, 07:47 AM
Sure looks a lot like the Penaeus vannamei that I buy from Seawater Express (http://www.seawaterexpress.com) to feed my frogfish.

Cheri

Pandora