PDA

View Full Version : Question about continuous siphon overflow


Blazer88
02/07/2006, 08:23 PM
I was wondering how to get the siphon started on this unit. I haven't used an overflow in a really long time and the last one I had was a U tube. Do I need a small pump or somthing? Thanks for the help.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7740533367&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

bassnman11
02/08/2006, 12:09 AM
Poke a piece of airline up into the tube from the out of tank side. Mount the overflow and fill both sides with water. Turn on your pump and suck on the tube. Yoy will see the water rise. You can do the same thing with a aqua lifter pump, then you dont't get a mouth full of fish water.

Blown 346
02/08/2006, 01:54 AM
You do need a aqua lifter pump to safely run that overflow, if it runs on only its own suction, it will fail and flood.