PDA

View Full Version : HELP, brand new mantis curling up, not moving!

LTJGAlex
02/08/2006, 06:19 PM
Hi, I'm new to the mantis world (though not to the hobby in general). I bought a small 5g tank that I filled with crushed coral, LS, LR and water from my larger tank. I floated the mantis for 1/2hr and he almost immediately curled up and is not moving. I prodded him, including his face, but all he does is wriggle his legs a little.

Any idea what's going on? I really don't want to lose my first mantis.

Thanks.

LTJGAlex
02/08/2006, 06:48 PM
Shoot, no one's even browsing this forum.

dave3d
02/08/2006, 08:37 PM
Well that doesn't sound good...is he still hanging in there? How did he look in the LFS?

-Dave

LTJGAlex
02/08/2006, 09:05 PM
Here's the update in the last few hours.

First, yes he was doing exceptionally well at the LFS. He was running all over the tank, took food and popped readily. I lowered the salinity (noticed that was too high) and refloated him. He's curled up again but now seems more...I guess...lucid? His gills are flapping, eyes and legs moving around, and he did snap at a stick I used to see his reaction.

Just don't know. I really hope he'll be ok.

Thurge
02/09/2006, 02:06 AM
Odd question being you are in Florida but what is the tank temp?
I rescently got a Mantis in the mail that was cold. She was very lethargic bue as she warmed up she came around.
Striking I would take as a good sign.

Uriel
02/09/2006, 04:14 AM
Can you get a picture?

If so, an ID might be possible, then you can see what parameters are required for salinity,temp and even lighting,perhaps.
Look at Roy's list, which is pinned at the top of this forum, you might spot your little monster there. if it is a smasher, ignore the pseudosquilla cilata, as well as the lysiosquillina/ any other that says 'spearer'.

It might just be a bit shocked. Two of mine did the same thing when i first got them, looking dazed for a few hours.

-Ron

LTJGAlex
02/09/2006, 08:29 AM