PDA

View Full Version : Tank Size question

SandManAtlc
02/15/2006, 11:13 AM
Hey, most of you probly dont remember me, but a while back I posted about a 300-400 gallon tank with DIY questions about price etc. Well after furthering my research, this is not the best financial descision I could make. I didnt take into consideration the cost of lighting, rocks, corals, fish, and the monthly cost to run everything. Im a surveyor, not a lawyer. I dont make that kind of money :(. I did poor research, and as a result, Im back at square one again. Now what Im about to ask you guys is probly going to make you want to kill me. If at all possible, Id like the details of what it takes to setup a 120g and 75g tank. I plan to keep inverts, fish, and pretty much any coral I can manage in the system. Maybee a parts break down such as:

Tank
Sump
Skimmer
Lights
Pump
Sand
etc...

I have a 55g tank I could use for the sump. Should that be enough for eather a 75, or 120?
I know the bigger sump the better, but Im trying to be cost effective without hurting the system at the same time.

Anything else you would like to add, like links, please do. Anything is apreciated. Thanks

Syon
02/15/2006, 12:57 PM
a simple equation on rough estimates would be $35 per gallon

slb11106
02/15/2006, 01:13 PM
a 120 is a great size tank, your sump would be good in the 55g but unless you are going to have a refugium in it also it is overkill and you will have more water for evaporation. skimmer size is always to be as big as possible, bigger the better, just fit it in your budget

150lbs of live rock and 2"+50%live sand/50%aragonite (extra fine if possible)

lights (this is where you will get your costs), if you are not going to do dif. hard corals than a 4x65 watt light should work for you and save initial costs and monthly costs

as par as pumps, i have a little giant 4mdq that would do well in your 120, but just pick one slightly bigger than your requiremnts