PDA

View Full Version : any sugestions on my tank

imortal fish
02/20/2006, 06:15 AM
I HAVE A 37 GL FISH/REEF. IT HAS 1 PRIZAM SKIMER,1/1200 MAXI JET,1/600 MAXI JET, 1/301 POWER HEAD,1 AQUA CLEAR 50 FILTER.
IT HAS A ICE CAP 430 WITH 4/75 WATT VHO'S. THERE IS 40 POUND LIVE SAND,50 POUNDS LIVE ROCK. FISH INCLUDE ONE ALGEE BLENNIE,ONE STRAWBERY GRAMMA, ONE OCELLARIS CLOWN,ONE MANDERIN,ONE ARROW CRAB,ONE CLEANER SHRIMP.
I HAVE ASSORTED MUSHROOMS AND ZOO POLYPS,ONE PLATE CORAL,AND ONE TRUMPET CORAL.I AM NEW TO THE HOBBY AND WOULD LIKE SOME INPUT ON MY TANK. IS THERE ANTHING I NEED THATS A MUST

THANK YOU

ncny21802
02/20/2006, 08:38 AM
You need to make sure you are produced copepods or isopods. The mandarin will die a slow death if you don't have any in your tank. It can take up to 6 months for a mandarin to starve to death.

idua
02/20/2006, 11:11 AM
Yes, if the mandarin is not eating frozen your tank will not be able to support it. I would also get a different skimmer, Prizm is not very efficient especially on a 37gallon tank. Other than that I think you are on the right path.

Avi
02/20/2006, 11:55 AM
I have read that Prizms aren't the best of skimmers, but if you are getting a dark liquid in the collection cup and it's always producing that, then you could probably get away with using it until you can get yourself a better one. IMO. the best thing you could do to improve your set-up would be to add a sump/refugium if you could...That would help out the Mandarin with the copepods, etc. and generally contribute to the water quality. But even as is, with the way you set up your reef, if you're doing water changes...you seem to be in really good shape.

idua
02/20/2006, 05:42 PM
Hey Avi, where in Westchester are you? I think that in 5 years I’ve been around you’re the second person in the area I came across in the forum.

chip721
02/20/2006, 07:09 PM