PDA

View Full Version : Longhorn Cowfish Question

ray3mont
02/21/2006, 05:24 PM
I am looking to add a Longhorn Cowfish to my 90 g FOWLR tank. Currently have a Radiata Lionfish.

My LFS told me that these are hardy fish and that a 90 g tank would be fine for a Longhorn. However, I am reading about these cowfish and apparently they can get 12 inches plus in an aquarium. Also, I am reading that they are a delicate fish and should only be maintained by and experienced hobbiest. Note, I have about 90 lbs. of LR, wet/dry filter and a lifereef protein skimmer. I have had the Radiata for two weeks with good success so far ... Radiata is eating kril and formula 1 and the water parameters are great. I am new to this though and don't want to bring in the cowfish if he won't be happy in my set up over time or if he's going to be a difficult fish to keep healthy.

Any guidance on keeping a Longhorn in my 90 gal and their hardiness would be appreciated.

SW1TCH
02/21/2006, 06:49 PM
I have not had one but was looking into them and have read that they are difficult to keep. And yes they do get big i personaly would not keep one in a 90. probly a 125 would be a better choice.

I like Triggers
02/21/2006, 10:07 PM
longhorn cowfish can get large, but they are not very active, you can keep one in a 90 gallon with limited tankmates, as for the fact that they are for experts only, is because when they are highly stressed they release a toxic poison into the water similar to a mandarin that will kill all tankmates including itself. being kept with a lionfish i would say you would be in a good boat because they are both calm fish.

there are many other species of boxfish maybe you should look into if you dont want a large one, some stay small like some spotted boxfish.

Monkeyfish
02/22/2006, 04:06 PM