PDA

View Full Version : Heavy Breathing of my Fish

Enerjr
02/21/2006, 06:39 PM
Hi Everyone Im new at this hobbie which Im getting pretty hooked up very fast. I currently have a 40 gal hex aquarium, with a Magnum 350 filter pump one protein skimmer and im about to receive an HQI 150 watt metal halide light fixture I also have about 25 lbs of live rock some brown and green polyps. one I believe leather coral and some mushroom coral I currently own a Marron Clown, a Cardinal Fish a Bi-Color Blenny a Copperband Butterfly and a Crab now my question is with my Copperband lately ive seen that he is breathing heavily what could be causing that. That is my main Concern right now and also what else do i need to add to my aquarium as far as equipment. I would really appreciated it any comments with the heavy breathinf of my Copperband Butterfly Fish.....

BurntOutReefer
02/21/2006, 07:02 PM
have you checked your nitrates?

Enerjr
02/21/2006, 07:08 PM
yes they are close to zero.....but is only the copperband who is having trouble breathing......I have a 10 gallon aquarium to use as a quarantine place would u recommend me moving him there for a while.....

craig2000000
02/21/2006, 07:56 PM
not too scare you or anything, but i had a false percula who started breathing heavily, and died a few days later. My water levels in the tank were fine at the time too......

hope you have better luck than me

XeniaMania
02/21/2006, 08:04 PM
Your tank sounds brand new, almost as if it hasn't cycled yet. How long has it been running? Another reason could be salinity shock, like how are you acclimating the fish to your tank? What's the Specific Gravity of your water? I also wonder why you got a Magnum 350 filter. There are much better filters out there IMO.

Enerjr
02/21/2006, 08:13 PM