PDA

View Full Version : calcium reactor effluent


whap
02/23/2006, 04:51 AM
For the last month im having trouble holding my alk steady,when i read the ph monitor for the effluent in the afternoon it is 25-30 higher than first thing in the mourning.So its dropping at night and my alk is raising .I was thinking the substrate needs to be changed (3 1/2 months) or does anyone turn off there co2 feed at night ,tank is doing fine all other parameters are good,thanks mike

Mr James
02/23/2006, 06:12 AM
I never turned my reactor off at night and just dealt with the pH swings. The reason I didn't turn it off was simply that I was too lazy to re-route all of the electrical cords to yet another timer. I wonder if a pH controller would fix the problem?!?

kevin gu3
02/23/2006, 10:13 AM
20-30 higher? Your pH? What's that mean? The scale only goes from 0 to 14, right?

You could get a kalk reactor and only add makeup water at night, or you could increase the CO2 blowoff rate of your tank's water.

whap
02/23/2006, 12:45 PM
IM MEASURING ON A DIGITAL PH MONITOR THE EFFLUENT OF THE REACTOR

RobinsonFam1
02/23/2006, 04:20 PM
dang! dont yell! it still doesnt make sense.....do you mean 8.1-8.4?
run you fuge on opposite light cycle as the tank, this will help some.

whap
02/23/2006, 05:35 PM
Look im talking about the effluent out of the reactor not thre tank ph, the reactor ph bounces and therefore makes the alk go up.

jay24k
02/23/2006, 05:56 PM
Kind of odd. I assume you have your reactor on a controller right? The effluent should be the same regardless of night or day. What are you running the ph at in your reactor?

whap
02/23/2006, 06:02 PM
I had the effluent at 7.00 but it was raising my alk then i bumped to 7.30 to see if icould drop alk or stabalize trying to find happy medium but in the mourning its at 7.10 or so its dropping 20 points or better in 9 hours then goes back up,Im going to change the substrate and see what happens.

jay24k
02/23/2006, 06:54 PM
The effluent should be related to the amount of co2 put in. I'm curious why the controller wouldn't turn it off when it reached 7.29. If you aren't using a controller, then the reasoning is the ph drop at night. The water running through there is probably lower in ph, thus the same amount of co2 is going to drop it by that much.

Are you using a controller? If not, I would set the reactor on a timer and only run it during the day. Then you wouldn't get the ph shift during the evening from a normal ph drop.

Mr James
02/23/2006, 07:02 PM
Yeah Jay24k, your daughter doesn't look anything like your wife. People jokingly say the same thing about my son and I.