PDA

View Full Version : advice needed with anenome

salt newbie01
02/26/2006, 12:43 PM
I have a green bubble tip anenome and it seems to be acting weird to me. But as previously stated I am a newbie so I may be worrying for nothing. I have had it for approx 2 weeks. When I first put it into my tank it rolled around for a short time before securing itself to the side of a rock with a kenya tree coral on top. They are several inches away from each other. I target feed the anenome brine shrimp approx every 3 days. And I target feed other corals with liquid DT's every 2-3 days. It grabs several pieces of the shrimp every time. Over the first week it "deflated" 2 usually 24-36 hours after feeding. I assumed this was get rid of waste from the feeding. The last couple of days it has "deflated" almost every days something brown and solid has come from it's mouth. It almost looks like solid waste?? When it is expelling this brown substance it's mouth is open, but then closes back. When it is "normal" or inflated it is 2 1/2 inches across and the mouth is tightly closed. It has never moved since getting into the spot it is in now. Should it be "deflating" and "inflating" this often? Over the last few days all of the "tenticles" are nor inflating. A few remain "flat". Does it sound like something is wrong? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

oh yeah just tested my water
ph - 8.2
phosphate .5
nitrate between 0.0 - 5.0
nitrite 0.0
calcium 460
amonia 0.0
salinity 1.023

RCS
02/26/2006, 01:16 PM
What corals are you feeding the DTs to? Some corals will make use of it but not all. The tree coral likely will, while most SPS and LPS will not.