PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed...

MyMonkey
02/26/2006, 02:35 PM
Ok. Something is wrong here. I have been battling Hair Algae for 6 months now. I have scrubbed the rocks twice during that time. I have Cheato Growing quickly in the upper corner of the tank. I also have Halimeda growing like mad in the tank to combat the algea. No matter what, the HA returns with a vengeance.

I do weekly water changes of 5 or 10 gallons. I run VHO's for 10 hours daily. No direct sunlight hits the tank. Not much indirect either. I feed every other day and supplement with feedings of the brain and anemone. Water params are:
PH 8.2
Temp:78.9 day, 78.1 Night
Calcium: 380 to 420
Alk: 7.8 to 8.2
Amonia: 0
Nitrate: less than 5
Nitrite: 0
Phosphate: .5 or less.

The scary thing is that I clean the Emeror filter output, then within 3 days it looks like this again:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/MyMonkey/IMG_3843.jpg

The skimmer looks like this after one week:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/MyMonkey/IMG_3844.jpg

The Cheato doubles in size within a week:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/MyMonkey/IMG_3841.jpg

My Star Polyps are choking on HA that I just scrubbed a few weeks ago.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/MyMonkey/IMG_3846.jpg

I use only RO/DI water as Topoff and mixed. SG is at around 1.024 to 1.025. What could make this algae grow so fast. Should I get rid of the Emperor? What about the skimmer? It seems like the area where the skimmer returns water to the tank gets the most algae growth. I have no idea why. Any suggestions.

I will scrub the rocks once more. I am planning a 90 gallon and would not like to bring a bunch of HA over into it.

_Sooner_2
02/26/2006, 03:14 PM
Are you running the bio wheels on the filters? When I used Emp's on fresh water tanks, they ALWAYS grew f/w hair algae in that exact place. Same when I tried them in s/w. I think Marineland should rename them the Hair Algae Inn filters.