PDA

View Full Version : silica based sand

doox00
02/28/2006, 05:47 PM
Hey there, I am new to marine tanks and still getting all my stuffs together. I plan to come to next mondays meeting as well with my girlfriend.

I would like some others opinions on substrate.. here is my story from today..

I have been on a mission to find some southdown/old castle/yardright good type of sand. I called all over, and most places do not have play sand in yet. I did find a home depot though about 30 minutes from here that had durascape white play sand. After reading online about some peoples vinegar test success with this sand I decided to go and get a few bags, it says on the package something old castle as well. it was last years stock, had 7 bags left, they were wet and half frozen, I bought 4 bags at 3.48 a bag. Got it home and I did the vinegar test and no fizzles. I am using white distilled vinegar, dilluted to 5 percent acidity, assuming this is the right stuff...

So my question is, in a fowlr tank is it safe to use this sand? You find some people saying its okay to use silica and alot of people saying no.

If its certaintly not safe and valid reasons why its not I will return this stuff and keep hunting

thanks again,
Shawn

Gerde
03/02/2006, 03:48 PM
Great to see you are interesting in coming to our meeting. Unfortunately this meeting won't be completely like a normal one because we are meeting in a different place. See grmas.org for details on location. Also there will not be an auction (which we usually do every month) in anticipation of the frag swap we are having this month. Regardless, please come and check us out.