PDA

View Full Version : High Ph


shoddyk
03/02/2006, 08:31 AM
After checking my water over the past few days I have noticed unusually high ph. I have and my refugium lights on 24 hours a day which I think might be causeing it. My ph has been above 8.6 since my test only goes up to 8.6 so it might be higher. How do I knock it down some?

shoddyk
03/02/2006, 08:34 AM
All other tests are
ca- 440
amonia- .1
alk- 160
nitrate- 10
nitrite - 0
temp - 77

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/02/2006, 08:42 AM
What time of day? Is it ever lower?

Adding any high pH additives?

I often don't trust pH kits.

More aeration will lower the pH if it is that high.

This article has more:

High pH: Causes and Cures
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2005-03/rhf/index.htm

shoddyk
03/02/2006, 08:50 AM
I have a Korallin 1502 calcium reactor which keeps my Calcium at around 440. It is set at only 10bubbles of co2 per minute right now. Should I raise the amount of co2 it is taking in?

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/02/2006, 09:27 AM
IMO, it is very unlikely that you have high pH if that is how you are supplementing calcium and alkalinity. Maybe it is below the bottom end of that pH kit. I wouldn't change the reactor settings as the alkalinity is fine and that is the best guide.

shoddyk
03/02/2006, 12:02 PM
Ok, I retested the water again and here goes. I am using three different measuring devices 1-Hagen test kit, low-ph and high ph test. 2-Pinpoint PH monitor. 3-Quick Dip 5in1 test strips. The Hagen low ph test shows that thec olor is a slight bit more blue than the highest mark of 7.6 and the Hagen high ph test shows that the color is a bit more blue than the highest blue of 8.7. The Pinpoint Monitor says the water is at 8.05ph. And last, the 5 in 1 Quick Dip Strips show that the color is brighter than the highest pink color of 8.8. I have no clue which one is right and what is going on. I also just recalibrated the Pinpoint Monitor today and the probe is only 1 month old. Any help?

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/02/2006, 02:46 PM
I'd believe the pH meter. pH won't ever be above pH 8.5 in a tank like yours. pH test strips, and even many kits are often inaccurate. :)

shoddyk
03/02/2006, 03:06 PM
OK, I guess I will try and raise it up to 8.3 then. What will happen if I raise it up and it ends up that the other tests were correct in the first place and it makes it an even higher reading than it already is?

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/02/2006, 03:20 PM
Well, if the pH is 8.6 and you raise it, you'll get more and more rapid precipitation of calcium carbonate on things like pumps. But don't worry. That won't be the case. :D

shoddyk
03/03/2006, 10:03 AM
I raised the ph up to 8.3 according to the meter and now one of my clams have sucked into its shell. Everyhting else seems to be doing fine.

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/03/2006, 01:41 PM
How did you raise it?