PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on tank setup

kenny77
03/06/2006, 10:21 AM
I Currently have a 15g hex tank. It has a Hang on filter and a regular CF light. Rigth now I have freshwater fish in it but my plans are to make it a seahorse tank. If any one can give me any advice on what Im planning to do. This is my first time with seahorse, I currently have a 2years old reeftank with mixed coral, from SPS to softies, anemones, clams.........

Im gonna put a fish list and inverts and also a equipment list that I will install. If you see something wrong or that I should change something let me know please.

Fish:

Hippocampus reidi(pair)
Clown goby Yellow

Inverts:

Blue leg hermit crabs (10)
Assorted featehr duster- hawaiian& dwarf (4)
Orange Sea Star Echinaster sp.) (1)
Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp (pair)
Astraea Conehead Snail (10)
Tree sponge (1)
Bredcrump Sponge(1)

Corals:
Purple Brush Gorgonian (1)
Orange Tree Gorgonian (1)
Yellow Finger Gorgonian (1)
Rusty Gorgonian (1)
Xenia

Filtration:

10g refugium w/LR , DSB & macro algae
Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer

As many can see will be a crouded tank, but at the same time I have some extra filtering just for that. If Im missing something crucial for keeping seahorse or if you thing I have something that I should eliminate let me know.

As for the sponges I cultivate my phytoplankton on a little station (2- 2lt)

thanks

RyanCD
03/06/2006, 10:46 AM
Just an FYI, if you hop over to seahorse.org and search under the library they have some great information such as a list of compatible tank mates.

Swanwillow
03/06/2006, 11:30 AM
I said this in another thread about 5 seconds ago, but: a 15 gallon isn't good for most seahorses, my last post in this thread just about covers the problems with it, mainly being the size of the tank isn't tall enough for most horses, and you'd need about 20 dwarf horses and a constant supply of bbs for much else.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=787286

kenny77