PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE HELP Tank Water Smells Can't Find Problem

saltman1
03/10/2006, 09:51 AM
OK, Here is my dilemma. Over the past week I have had a red slime alage breakout in the tank on some parts of the sand only! I had a new SPS RTN on me this week. Which it was only 2 weeks old anyway so it may have anyway. The tank is 5 months strong with never an issue until now. I'm no newbie I understand the hobby. All my water parameters are in check. Every Monday I test and this past Monday was no different. Everything was reef normal for testing. Well this week aside from my sps piece rtn my sun polyp which is out every day hasnt been out all week. The tank smells like a common dead coral smell....foul odor when I smell the water. YET everything looks fine, I only have 4 fish and they are great, I took out and smelled the few corals that havent had PE just to make sure and they are fine....where is the smell coming from?? THE ONLY THING I CHANGED, was I added a phosban 150 reactor to get rid of phosphates on last Saturday. It's running properly and after checking phpsphates 2 days after it went from .05 to 0. So whats's up. I will say that 24 hrs after adding that to the system I noticed the cynao....

saltman1
03/10/2006, 10:33 AM
any thoughts

wantahealthytank
03/10/2006, 10:37 AM
Not sure, but I have heard that some of those phosphate removers can possibly leach metals into the water. Not 100% on that. Maybe something fell behind a rock and is dying?

I had a problem with a horrid smell in my tank twice. Carbon always took care of it fairly quickly. One time the problem was when I started up a canister filter that had been sitting for a while, the water in the tubes went very bad and smelled up the whole house and the tank.

The other time, my DT's Phyto went bad, and I didn't realize it right away. Again, just having carbon in a canister filter made the water smell normal again in just a few hours.

Kinetic
03/10/2006, 10:41 AM