PDA

View Full Version : ozone reactor?


edwadd
03/13/2006, 05:33 PM
I recently purchased an ozonizer but cant use it thru my skimmer due to being unable to properly carbon its output. Any ideas on how to use it via a reactor? Would it be possible to use a phosban reactor in some fashion? Any ideas?

sjj729
03/13/2006, 05:47 PM
I started running ozone and didn't want to run it thru an expensive deltec skimmer because of fear of it ruining it. Instead I bought a cheap coralife skimmer and run the ozone thru it. So it essence it is being used as a reactor, I don't collect any skimmate from the coralife. So far it has worked well.

Jeff

Julio
03/13/2006, 05:56 PM
Running ozone through the deltec skimmer won't ruing the skimmer, the only thing is that it would ruin the gasket over time, which would happen with any skimmer over time.
Ed, you don't really need carbon to filter it out, but you can setup a carbon filter with PVC and then having it go to your skimmer.

mikeatjac
03/13/2006, 05:59 PM
Can you better explain the Julio?

Julio
03/13/2006, 06:42 PM
whcih part are you refering to?

mikeatjac
03/13/2006, 07:11 PM
How do you place your carbon so the skimmer out flow hits it.

Julio
03/13/2006, 07:57 PM
It own't be the skimmer out flow, you would setup a carbon filter made of PVC directly after the ozone tubing before being delivered to the skimmer.

Lutefisk
03/13/2006, 08:09 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6948091#post6948091 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Julio
It own't be the skimmer out flow, you would setup a carbon filter made of PVC directly after the ozone tubing before being delivered to the skimmer.


:confused:

I either I've misunderstood what you wrote or you didn't write what you meant.

Yes, putting an activated carbon filter inline with the ozone tubing after the ozone generator and before the skimmer will filter out the ozone. It will also prevent it from reacting with the water.

When you use ozone with a skimmer you must use activated carbon on both outputs from the skimmer: obviously the water but also the air exiting from the top of the skimmer.

Julio
03/13/2006, 08:12 PM
It will cut down on about 40% of the ozone, but if you don't want to do this all you need is just a sealed skimmer lid and a waste canister with a carbon filter.

Lutefisk
03/13/2006, 08:45 PM
:confused:

Reducing the ozone before it hits the skimmer may make sense if someone has purchased a ozone generator that is far too big.

Even if it is properly sized you should have activated carbon on both the air and water outputs.

The ozone and oxidation byproducts that escape to the air are bad for everyone in the house and that which remains in the water after it passes through the skimmer are extremely bad for your reef.

Here is an post from Randy Farley-Holms regarding a recent EPA announcement of the dangers of ozone:
http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=789282

I've used ozone in the past and I'm setting up to use it again. It is just important to be careful.

Randy's article on ozone is an important read for people considering it (even if you don't "get" all of it - I didn't).

Article: http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-03/rhf/index.php#17


Randy Farley-Holms wrote in his article:
Does GAC or any other of these methods work well enough for reef aquarists to use ozone without undesirable side effects? The answer likely depends on the care which is used in the GAC treatment, and the aquarist's tolerance for OPOs to pass into the aquarium. The answer is likely not well enough when using the highest doses typically used by aquarists and the lowest tolerance for OPOs (that is, the lowest levels likely to cause ANY undesirable effects). Because it is not easy for most aquarists to measure low concentrations of OPOs, the most prudent course of action (aside from not using ozone) is to pass the ozonated aquarium water over as much GAC as possible before letting it re-enter the aquarium.


If Randy isn't sure that activated carbon is sufficient on the output of a skimmer fed with ozone I'm certainly not going to run ozone without it.