PDA

View Full Version : External inline pump opinions?

dugg
03/15/2006, 11:58 AM
With the return of summer, i once again am having heat issues. I am going to bite the bullit, and get an external inline pump. I need to have 600 to 650 gph flow rate at 4ft head pressure. I have been looking at the little giant 3-MDQ-SC. I have also looked at the Iwaki pumps. The have american models, and japanese models. Is there a difference in them? I have never used an external pump before, so any input from people that have used them would be very helpfull. Brands Models, do's don'ts?

captbunzo
03/15/2006, 02:29 PM
I have had these eheim pumps (http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_pumps_eheim_universal_hobby_powerheads.asp?CartId=) recommeded to me as great low cost external pumps.

_Sooner_2
03/15/2006, 08:32 PM
Dugg,

I have a Japanese motor Iwaki. My understanding is that the Japanese motors are quieter. I do KNOW that they are more expensive. Mine is silent while running the closed loop. But, considering the cost, I would sure ask for feedback on the Little Giants and USA made Iwakis.

Ronnie

dugg
03/15/2006, 09:02 PM
I may not be needing one after all lol. I just screwed up big. My PH has been real low for a few days, i thought dew to the heat issue. I turned up my lime drip to raise the PH. It is now snowing in Florida. My tank has gone from crystal clear to milk in the last hour. I have carbon on the way, but it don't look good. It's getting worse by the minute. Never had this before so i have no idea what to do other then turn off the lime drip and get carbon in.

Schmit
03/16/2006, 07:52 AM
Dugg,