PDA

View Full Version : BTA Disappeared then Reappeared??? Your experiences with BTA??

mokamm
03/16/2006, 12:28 PM
Hi,
BACKGROUND...... I am fairly new to the hobby and hooked like most everyone. I bought an anenome (LFS said it was long tenacle, but it is actually a BTA that didn't have bubble tips at the time). It split after I had it for about 3 months. Both were doing good in the smaller tank for another couple months. I then got a larger tank and both BTAs seemed to be doing fine. They had been in the larger set up for about 2 months.

THEN.........The smaller of the two BTAs, shriveled up one day, and then the next it was nowhere to be found. After it not turning up, I figured it got into something and was gone for good. That was about a month ago. Two nights ago I spotted a tiny blob on an empty snail shell. Same color as the anenome and it appeared to have an opening on the top with tiny pinkish tips. (My darned collector urchin was carrying it around last night, now I'v got to go home tonight and find it again.) It has not ballooned up, but could it be my long lost BTA? Has anyone had this happen with an anenome?

km133688
03/16/2006, 02:07 PM
I have had several BTAs. I find them hit or miss, not that I am that great a reefer. They are generally considered the easiest to keep. The one common problem with them is that they tend to walk around the tank if they are not happy, or if anything changes once they are settled in.

For example, if you change water flow patterns or change lighting, they will start moving within a day or two and you never know where they will stop. This can be problematic as it often happens they get sucked into powerheads and its byby anemone.

On the good side, their gorwth can be controled readily by feeding plans. You should always feed them, question is how much and how often.

general BTA rules are: