PDA

View Full Version : ASM Skimmer Problem: Lid will not lock onto collection cup, anybody else?

gsxrguru2
03/27/2006, 08:03 AM
I have been using my skimmer for about 3 months now and have had it since it was new. Before it had seen any use at all the lid on the collection cup locked and unlocked very freely. Within the first couple of cleanings, I noticed that the lid would no longer lock on and if I forced it to, it was almost impossible to get off. I am forced to just set the lid on the cup and hope it doesn't leak. Just wondering if anybody else has had this problem and if there are any suggestions or if I have any recourse with ASM? Thanks!

Louisb
03/27/2006, 10:34 AM
Mine kind of does the same thing, but not as extreme. I am tagging along to see if anyone has any suggestions. I wonder if using vaseline would work?

gsxrguru2
03/27/2006, 11:13 AM
I was actually thinking of using vaseline as I was writing this earlier. I was wondering if maybe the acrylic somehow shrinks when exposed to saltwater, or something?

CaptainDave
03/27/2006, 11:43 AM
Mine does that too, I don't think it's hurting anything just sitting on top. I think acrylic absorbs a little bit of water and swells when it gets wet, maybe that's why.

gsxrguru2
03/27/2006, 12:00 PM
I don't think it hurts anything, its just annoying knowing that it is supposed to be a good quality skimmer, but yet the lid won't even go on all the way. the only problem (hasn't happened yet) I can see happening is the skimmate spilling out when I remove the collection cup b/c the lid isn't on all the way.

kalare
03/27/2006, 02:16 PM
I have several of the old style ER (don't know about the new ones) that I've been using for at least 6-8 years. All my cups have lids that just sit on top with a little groove on the bottom to keep them from sliding around. This is also how I've made my DIY skimmers. I don't see any problem with performance. I would however be mad if my skimmer was made to close tight and didn't :(.