PDA

View Full Version : bubble Tip Anemone Help

Spidross
03/27/2006, 05:21 PM
Hi

I bought a bubble tip anemone for my tank yesterday, everything was good and the anemone looked settled in. 2 Clowns have taken to it really well and love it. Was just closing things down tonight though and noticed that the tank had gone all cloudy, on closer inspection the anemone had shrunk, all it's tips were empty and it looked totally and utterly deflated. Had just chjecked my water and all is good. The anemone has release like cloudy mucus so to speak into the water. The fish and shrimps seem fine and don't seem to be bothered but i am

How can you tell if they are dying or is it something i should expect as a natural thing that can happen with them. this is my first time with anemones and any advice would be most appreciated.

finding nemo
03/27/2006, 06:35 PM
Sounds like it released sperm or eggs into the water.
They deflate also to poop or exchange water in their bodies.
Let us know how he is in the morning.
Right now I would'nt worry about him

Spidross
03/28/2006, 04:04 AM
tHANKS FOR THE REPLY, HE SEEMS FINE THIS MORNING, BUT IS NOW RETREATING BACKWARDS INTO THE ROCK WORK, AM GOING TO DO A WATER CHANGE AND CHECK LEVELS TODAY BUT HE'S GONE FROM ALL OUT AND DISPLAYED TO SHRUNKEN AND SHRIVELLED TO REFILLED AND RETREATING INTO THE ROCK IN ABOUT 12 HOURS!!

aNY OTHER IDEAS POINTERS ARE MOST APPRECIATED

finding nemo
03/28/2006, 07:44 AM
Spid, that is to be expected, him moving since he is so new to your tank. He is adjusting to it and will retreat for a day or two, keep feeding him if you can reach him and sooner or later he will stick his head out from the rock to show you how happy he is.

Spidross
03/28/2006, 09:55 AM
Cheers mate most appreciated, i stumbled across this site by accident looking for help and have spent hours upon hours looking at all the posts, very informative and thank the man upstairs i found it!!