PDA

View Full Version : Who does tank moves?

Teddy Ballgame
03/28/2006, 12:05 PM
I am about a month away from having to move my 180 gallon. I am in the process of designing and putting together a new sump.
But MOST of my friends remembered the pain it was to move last time and now are very reluctant. I would just as soon have some pros come in and take it apart and set it back up. Fortunatley the move is on about a mile away from where I'm at right now.

Thanks for any suggestions.

cward
03/28/2006, 12:25 PM
I wouldn't think a 180 would be that bad to move.

Teddy Ballgame
03/28/2006, 12:40 PM
True, I just hate moving! I guess if properly planned, it ould be done without too much hassle. Just wanted to guage if anyone knew anything local movers doing this kind of thing.

cward
03/28/2006, 12:45 PM
I was thinking about the tank only and not the livestock. I haven't had to move mine yet so I have no experience, but I'm sure some other people will chime in.

cfishrun
03/28/2006, 05:55 PM
If you're talking about having professional movers move your tank I'd highly advise against it, especially if you have a reef tank. Chances are slim that you'll luck out and happen to get a group of guys that understand and respect how much money is tied up in your hobby, and have the knowledge of packing, handling, and transporting live marine animals.

I'd suggest contacting your favorite LFS. Most offer tank cleaning services, and tank moves typically fall under that category. However, for a 180, you'll pay a decent amount; most LFS's tank service fees range anywhere from $40 to $60 per man hour (depending on the store). They'd have to send out at least 2, but possibly up to 4, people to move a tank that size. That'd equate to $160 - $240 an hour. Also, if you decide to go this route make some calls and get something set up ASAP. Most LFS's need a few weeks notice to schedule in new customers, especially when it's something of your scale.