PDA

View Full Version : Teeny Tiny Nano

autofish
03/28/2006, 05:12 PM
Hi folks,

I have a 3 gallon Eclipse tank I'm looking to do something with. Now, I've heard this is NOT a good choice for a nano reef, and that's OK with me. I don't really want to do a complete reef in it, anyway.

I would, however, like to keep a single fish as a pet. I was thinking a clown. Maybe put a couple very small pieces of live rock in there for fun.

What do you think? Am I destined to run into problems with this? My assumption was I could stick a clown in there and do partial water changes every week and be just fine. I'd love to hear any thoughts from the experts here before I jump in, because I have zero experience with saltwater tanks this small and don't want to kill fish if I can help it. :)

Jordan55
03/28/2006, 05:27 PM
There are many 2.5 gallon nano reefs here. Look around for some ideas.

Most fish are out of the question, especially a clown.

You could go with a small shrimp goby or small goby of some sort. Look for something under 2 inches.

I am not encouraging you to keep a fish in it. IMO, it can be done, but isn't best. But if you HAVE to have a fish, get something under 2 inches and doesn't do a bunch of swimming.

You could get a PC fixture and keep some mushrooms, and zoos, and maybe a leather.

Like I said, search around the pages in this forum and get some ideas.

kewliz
03/28/2006, 06:17 PM
a clown goby with a few polyps would work.
they're tiny and don't swim much, and since they're slow/shy eaters, it would be able to get food.

Gundo5000
03/28/2006, 07:04 PM
I second a clown goby.

Mine loves to eat cyclop-ease

autofish
03/28/2006, 08:00 PM
Thanks folks! :)

Daniel62
03/29/2006, 07:28 PM
Check out the tiny gobies at fosters & smith. They have some that only get an inch long.

Brandon's Reef
03/30/2006, 12:16 AM
I have a TOMs Deco Kit 3 gallon and Im doing a highfin goby and tiger pistol pair.

autofish
03/30/2006, 10:09 AM