PDA

View Full Version : T5 Vs. PC

FOBMcGyver
03/29/2006, 06:55 PM
Hello folks,
I'm new to the hobby. I currently have a FOWLR and will soon upgrade to reef. I'm about to purchase some new lights and was wondering what's better for corals? T5 or PC?
It seems to me T5's watts max out at like 45 watts and you need like 6 bulbs, whereas PC's one bulb can handle 96 watts.
Is there a reason why lower wattage, but more bulbs is better than fewer bulbs, higher wattage?

xtrstangx
03/29/2006, 07:16 PM
T5's are better. They are stronger per watt and you can get VERY good reflectors for them.

Amy83820
03/29/2006, 07:23 PM
I'm going through the same decision right now... From what I can tell, T5 is more expensive though. My budget is more toward the PC end of the price range...

ddevlin
03/29/2006, 07:29 PM
Everyone skimps on budget at first when it comes to this hobby. Take my advise and go with the T5's. You will be a lot happier in the long run as well as your corals.

horkn
03/29/2006, 08:22 PM
t5 will also use less electricity, and the bulbs will last 3 times longer than PC. so it may be more money at first, but it will easily add up that t5ho is better.

not to mention t5ho with proper reflectors will blow the PC out of the water as far as light output..

larryl
03/29/2006, 08:23 PM
T5s with individual parabolic reflectors will get more light into your tank compared to the same wattage PCs. I replaced 3x96W PCs (288W total) with 4x39W HO T5s (156W total) over my 50gal and overall the tank is brighter than before, and my chiller comes on less because there's less heat from the bulbs.

Larry

reefsahoy
03/29/2006, 09:13 PM
t5 hands down. i just replaced my pc and what a difference. my pc were only 2 months old and is sitting in my garage

Mingiunate
03/29/2006, 10:41 PM
Hey,

I currently have 5 - 96watt PC over a 58g

would you suggest 4-39watt T5s or 6?

Looking on the reefgeek site, i see they have a choice of 1 Icecap or 2 Triad ballasts