PDA

View Full Version : uh oh.. can i do hyposalinity and a copper treatment at the same time?

TOURKID
03/29/2006, 07:16 PM
just started up a qt tonight for my clown with ick.. i lowered the salinity to 1.021 soo far, and added copper treatment. can i do both of these at the same time?? i was just reading a thread thru here and it implied i should pick one or the other

please help fast

kraze3
03/29/2006, 07:43 PM
I think you should pick one. Copper is harder to maintain if there is substrate or lr in the tank, also too much copper will kill your fish. IMO I'd say go with the hypo but if you have used copper before of you think you can handle it then its your call
HTH

TOURKID
03/29/2006, 07:46 PM
no im a newbie and i dont know what im doing. the bottle of 'nox ick' says 1 drop per gallon for 3 days, skip a day then another three if it hasent stopped

I really need help

I already did 1 dose of copper. is it ok to switch and just start lowering the salinity?

how long do i keep it low, two weeks treatment or a full 6 weeks?

kraze3
03/29/2006, 07:50 PM
Im not sure if you should just switch to the hypo. Someone else will hopefully chime in to answer that. I have never used nox ick so I cant really help you too much further. It may be very easy to use Im nost sure.
However Hypo should be done for 6-8 weeks, I did mine for 8.

Someone should answer the copper question soon. Dont worry seeing as you arent supposed to dose again til tomorrow

SAT
03/30/2006, 09:44 AM
Nox ich contains malachite green, corrrect? If so it's not copper and you can remove it very quickly with activated carbon.

Copper is much more toxic to fish in freshwater than in salt, so we don't recommend using it in hyposalinity. However, the act of reducing the salinity will also dilute the copper. You can rapidly remove the rest with chemical filtration ("heavy metal sponge" or "polyfilter"). If it's a bound or chelated form, activated carbon may also work.

TOURKID
03/30/2006, 10:09 AM