PDA

View Full Version : acylic help

Torpus
03/31/2006, 03:09 PM
i pulled a bulkhead off of my tank and this was underneath. this hole is for a 3/4" bulkhead so it is 1-1/2" i think of the top of my head... there are many more holes in the tank so i checked all of them and they are fine.

http://images1.fotki.com/v8/photos/8/876796/3392742/1-vi.jpg

http://images1.fotki.com/v5/photos/8/876796/3392742/2-vi.jpg

http://images1.fotki.com/v290/photos/8/876796/3392742/3-vi.jpg

I want to stop it as soon as possible so I can get water in the tank, is there anything I can put on it to stop the crack from spreading? Maybe something that will kind of go in the seam and dissolve the plastic back together?

I can barely feel the crack on the inside with my nail, and not at all on the outside. With the bulkhead on the crack is covered up completely. Does acrylic spider like glass or is this just a crack that will not spread?

afishyonados
03/31/2006, 03:22 PM
That is scary! I'm no expert, but I don't think solvent will stop the cracks under pressure. The only way I could see to stop the cracks from running would be to drill holes at the end of the crack, breaking the probability of the run. Even if this worked, I would use a patch of acrylic glued on the inside, over the hole(s). I know you probably don't want to read this, but I would consider a new tank...

starmanres
03/31/2006, 03:49 PM
Melev would be the expert on this. I would think that using LOCTITE 3030 on it would melt the acylic back together and seal it, but I wouldn't risk it without hearing from him.

Robert

Torpus
03/31/2006, 09:58 PM
im thinking maybe drill the hole larger and use a larger bulkhead, i think i could prolly make that work.
im not sure what caused it, it wasnt like that when the bulkhead went on.
all the other holes are fine and dont even have the little chips that this hole has all the way around so i wonder if the drill bit was dulled by the time this hole was cut

rich99rich