PDA

View Full Version : Adding calcium via water changes...

overCee
04/03/2006, 05:06 PM
Hi,

I am relatively new to reefkeeping and desire to stock my tank with LPS-style corals. I currently only have a fungia plate coral added in the last few days. I just measured my calcium level and it is 275 ppm, which is too low. My alk level is also 2.5 meq/L which is also on the low side.

Since I would prefer to avoid the expense of topoff pumps and reactors I was hoping to determine a method to add calcium (from limewater) via my weekly 10% water change.

From the article What Your Grandmother Never
Told You About Lime (http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2005-01/rhf/index.php#3) I have read, "Adding, for example, 1/4 teaspoon to 40 gallons will raise the pH by only 0.1 to 0.2 pH units. Unless the pH is high (>8.4) before the addition, that amount is likely acceptable."

This is a perfect bit of information for me since I have a 30 gallon Oceanic cube with a 10 gallon sump.

I was hoping that I could add a quarter teaspoon of pickling lime to the 4 gallon waterchange water that I add to the tank every week.

Does this seem reasonable? If not, what else do you recommend I try?

Can I increase the amount of lime added by using vinegar? If so, how much vinegar should I use (and what kind? I assume white vinegar).

Thank you.

Randy Holmes-Farley
04/04/2006, 05:02 AM
As it stands now,you need to raise the calcium level with a calcium only supplement, not limewater. Any balanced calcium and alkalinity additive will push alkalinity through the roof if you try to boost calcium by that much. Calcium chloride is the best way to go. Dissolve it in some fresh water and add over a couple of days with a measurement in between to see how it is going.

This calculator shows how much to use:

Reef Chemicals Calculator
http://home.comcast.net/~jdieck1/chem_calc3.html

and this article guides you through that process:

Solving Calcium and Alkalinity Problems